Skip to primary content


Journalism Headliners Fire-Up Aug. 3 Conference

Dan Gillmor, Jeff Jarvis and Rebecca MacKinnon, three well know journalism headliners experimenting with citizen media will be part of the Exploring the Fusion Power of Public and Participatory Journalism conference Aug. 3 in Toronto. Register now and join them and a host of other high-profile journalists and educators.

Dan Gillmor.bmp
Gillmor, Mercury News technology columnist, will just be introducing his new book We the Media: Grassroots Journalism by the People, for the People, which puts the whole participatory and citizen media movement into perspective.

Rosen, Jarvis0003.JPG
Jarvis is creator of Entertainment Weekly and now president and creative director of Newhouse’s He is advocating for hyperlocal journalism and Citizen Media Centers.

Rebecca MacKinnon photo.bmp
Rebecca MacKinnon recently resigned as CNN Tokyo Bureau Chief to experiment with a North Korean oriented news blog as a fellow at Harvard Law School’s Berkman Center for Internet and Society. She will lead the discussion on the globalization of public journalism and citizen media.

Here is a partial list of high-profile educators and journalists who have said they will be attending:

Jay Rosen, chair NYU journalism department
Jeff Jarvis, president, at Newhouse publications; Buzzmachine
Jan Schaffer, director, J-Lab
Neil Heinen, editorial director, WISC TV, Wisconsin
Tom Warhover, journalism professor, University of Missouri
Chris Waddle, editor, Anniston (Alabama) Star
Steve Smith, editor, Spokane Spokesman-Review
Rebecca MacKinnon, fellow, Harvard University, NKZone
Melinda Robins, professor, Emerson College
Leonard Teel, professor, Georgia State University
Andrew Haeg, reporter, Minnesota Public Radio’s Interactive Journalism unit
Chike Anyaegbunam, professor, University of Kentucky
Andrea Frantz, professor, Wilkes University
Gil Thelen, publisher, Tampa Tribune
Hossein Derakhshan (Hoder), Iranian blogger, Toronto
Cole Campbell, dean, school of journalism, U of Nevada, Reno
Anne P. Kothawala, president & CEO, Canadian Newspaper Association
Michael Skoler, managing director of news, Minnesota Public Radio
Shayne Bowman, co-author, We Media white paper
Sharon Iorio, associate dean, communication professor, Wichita State University
Lewis Friedland, professor, University of Wisconsin
Chris Willis, co-author, We Media white paper
Dennis Foley, reporter, Orange County Register
Nikhil Moro, professor, Kennesaw State University
Mike McDevitt, professor, University of Colorado
Mike Adkinson, publisher, Techlinks Media, Georgia
Jack Rosenberry, professor, St. John Fisher College
Mary Lou Fulton, Publisher, The Northwest Voice, Bakersfield, California
Peggy Kuhr, Knight Chair in Community Journalism,University of Kansas

Comments are closed.