Skip to primary content

Who Will Be at the Conference

Conference Home | Program | Attendees | Conference Sponsors | Contact

Warren Kinsella

Best-selling author Warren Kinsella and nationally known journalist David Akin add a powerful Canadian point of view to the ground breaking Exploring Fusion Power of Public and Participatory Journalism conference. The conference may well be a roadmap for the future of journalism. Kinsella and Akin join a large cast of cutting edge journalists and scholars who are attending this conference.

Kinsella, best selling Canadian author and popular Canadian blogger, will be a panelist at the Exploring the Fusion Power of Public and Participatory Journalism, August 3, 2004, Toronto.

His books include a national bestseller about organized racism, titled Web of Hate (HarperCollins, 1994, and republished in 1996 and 2001); a best-selling novel, Party Favors (HarperCollins, 1997); and, most recently, a book about political communications, called Kicking Ass in Canadian Politics (Random House, 2001).

Kinsella will show, through personal experience, the power of citizen publishing and will be coupled with Jay Rosen, PressThink blogger and chair of the New York University Department of Journalism. He will address the impact the Warren Kinsellas of the world are having on the news media.

Kinsella joins David Akin, another Canadian blogger, who is also a nationally known TV and print journalist. Akin is on the cutting edge of convergence journalism, as a print, broadcast and blogging journalist. He brings first hand knowledge to the discussion of public and participatory journalism.

Join us at this conference which also includes:

Dan Gillmor, Jeff Jarvis , Rebecca MacKinnon, Jay Rosen, and partners Chris Willis and Shayne Bowman, are all bloggers and cutting-edge thinkers when it comes to public and participatory journalism. They all will be in the thick of the very interactive Exploring the Fusion Power of Public and Participatory Journalism conference Aug. 3 in Toronto. Register now and join them and a host of other high-profile journalists and educators. Blog right from Toronto to your audiences.

Dan Gillmor
Gillmor, Mercury News technology columnist, will just be introducing his new book We the Media: Grassroots Journalism by the People, for the People , which puts the whole participatory and citizen media movement into perspective.

Jeff Jarvis
Jarvis is creator of Entertainment Weekly and now president and creative director of Newhouse’s He is advocating for hyperlocal journalism and Citizen Media Centers.

Rebecca MacKinnon
Rebecca MacKinnon recently resigned as CNN Tokyo Bureau Chief to experiment with a North Korean oriented news blog as a fellow at Harvard Law School’s Berkman Center for Internet and Society. She will lead the discussion on the globalization of public journalism and citizen media.

Jay Rosen lead the charge to public journalism and now is outfront in the blogosphere at PressThink. Willis and Bowman wrote the influential We Media and Amazoning the News white papers.

David Akin

David Akin is at the is among the first of a new generation of journalists, holding concurrent positions with Canada’s most-watched network news program and Canada’s leading national newspaper. Akin is National Business and Technology Correspondent for CTV News with Lloyd Robertson and a Contributing Writer for The Globe and Mail’s Report on Business.

Here is a partial list of high-profile educators and journalists who have said they will be attending, register now and join them:

  • Warren Kinsella, best selling Canadian author and blogger.
  • David Akin, journalist and blogger, CTV News and Globe and Mail
  • Jay Rosen, chair NYU journalism department
  • Dan Gillmor, Mercury News columnist, author We the Media
  • Jeff Jarvis, president, at Newhouse publications; Buzzmachine
  • Jan Schaffer, director, J-Lab
  • Neil Heinen, editorial director, WISC TV, Wisconsin
  • Tom Warhover, journalism professor, University of Missouri
  • Chris Waddle, editor, Anniston (Alabama) Star
  • Steve Smith, editor, Spokane Spokesman-Review
  • Rebecca MacKinnon, fellow, Harvard University , NKZone
  • Melinda Robins, professor, Emerson College
  • Leonard Teel, professor, Georgia State University
  • Andrew Haeg, reporter, Minnesota Public Radio’s Interactive Journalism unit
  • Chike Anyaegbunam, professor, University of Kentucky
  • Andrea Frantz, professor, Wilkes University
  • Gil Thelen, publisher, Tampa Tribune
  • Hossein Derakhshan (Hoder), Iranian blogger, Toronto
  • Anne P. Kothawala, president & CEO, Canadian Newspaper Association
  • Michael Skoler, managing director of news, Minnesota Public Radio
  • Shayne Bowman, co-author, We Media white paper
  • Sharon Iorio, associate dean, communication professor, Wichita State University
  • Lewis Friedland, professor, University of Wisconsin
  • Dennis Foley, reporter, Orange County Register
  • Nikhil Moro, professor, Kennesaw State University
  • Mike McDevitt, professor, University of Colorado
  • Mike Adkinson, publisher, Techlinks Media , Georgia
  • Jack Rosenberry, professor, St. John Fisher College
  • Mary Lou Fulton, publisher, The Northwest Voice, Bakersfield , California
  • Peggy Kuhr, Knight Chair in Community Journalism, University of Kansas
  • Rich Riski, professor, Peninsula College
  • Leonard Witt, president, Public Journalism Network, Kennesaw State University
  • Marty Steffens, Chair in Business and Financial Journalism, University of Missouri